John D. “Jack” Hawkins


John D. "Jack" Hawkins

Mr. Hawkins is a lifelong resident of Manatee County and has practiced law in Bradenton since 1979 – over 40 years. During this period of time Mr. Hawkins’ practice has emphasized general business, personal injury, construction and commercial litigation representing individuals, corporations, contractors, institutional, and private lenders. In addition, Mr. Hawkins has handled complicated and emotionally sensitive divorce and child custody cases as a family law attorney for over 30 years. He is also a Certified Circuit Court Mediator and Certified Family Law Mediator, having mediated hundreds of cases over the past 15 years – as both a mediator and as an attorney representing various clients. Mr. Hawkins has enjoyed an AV rating by Martindale Hubbell since 1997.


  • University of Mississippi College of Law J.D. (1979)
  • University of Southern Mississippi B.A., Political Science (honors, 1976)

Community Involvement

  • Board of Directors, Manatee Chamber of Commerce (1995-1999)
  • Board of Directors, Boys and Girls Club (President, Bradenton Branch, 1990)
  • President, Kiwanis Club of Bradenton (1999)
  • Chairman, Bradenton Kiwanis Foundation (2001, 2012)
  • Board Member, Manatee County Girls Club Foundation (1998-2005)
  • Recipient, Manatee County Bar Association Community Service Award (2000)
  • Recipient, Manatee County Bar Association Lifetime Achievement Award (2016)
  • Board of Directors, Manatee Players (2013-2017)

Bar & Other Professional Affiliations

  • Florida Bar
  • U.S. Supreme Court
  • Member, Trial Lawyer Section Florida Bar
  • U.S. District Court, Middle District of Florida
  • Florida Supreme Court
  • Mississippi Bar
  • Manatee County Bar Association
  • President, Manatee County Bar Association (1989)
  • Supreme Court of the United States
  • Certified Circuit Court Mediator
  • Certified Family Law Mediator
  • Goodrich-Grimes Inns of Court, Past Chairman (1990)
  • Manatee County Hearing Officer (2004-2016)
  • Special Magistrate, 12th Judicial Circuit Manatee County
  • 12th Judicial Circuit Grievance Committee, Chairman (1990)
Skip to content